North Carolina Justice Academy

North Carolina Department of Justice

TASER Conducted Electrical Weapon (CEW) Instructor Course

 
Please check our "Available Training" page for the most current status of the course. 

Who Should Attend:

This course provides the basic operational theory and practical training to instruct users to reasonably safely and effectively operate TASER CEWs. This course covers the TASER X26, X26P and X2 CEWs, and will certify those who successfully complete the course as TASER instructors for a period of 2 years. This course is open to sworn law enforcement officers, military personnel, and licensed professional security employees. Part 1 of the courses is completed online. New instructors will spend approximately 4 hours online before participating in 16 hours of practical training (Day 1 and Day 2). Recertifying instructors will spend approximately 8 hours online before participating in 8 hours of practical training (Day 2).

Topics Covered:

  • TASER technology
  • Neuro-muscular incapacitation
  • Medical and safety information
  • Voluntary exposures
  • Legal issues
  • TASER CEWs
  • Power sources
  • Cartridges
  • TASER Cam and TASER Cam HD
  • Tactical considerations
  • Targeting
  • Risks associated with CEW use
  • Probe deployment and drive stun
  • Probe removal
  • Policy considerations
  • Post incident consideration

Several knowledge assessments will be completed online as well as written tests during Days 1 and 2.

Methodologies:

The course also includes several drills and exercises requiring physical exertion. Students should be in good physical condition and must advise the Master Instructor of any preexisting injuries or physical limitations. Drills include:
Non-Firing drills
Firing drills
Isolation exercises
Stress courses
Scenarios

Course Requirements:

Three weeks prior to the start of class, students will need to log on to www.taser.com/training and complete an online exercise.  The exercise closes 72 hours before the start of class.

Certification period:

2 years

Course fee:

$435.00 for new certification and $225.00 for recertification.

Registration:

Registration must be made through the North Carolina Justice Academy Training Portal and www.taser.com/training.

 

 

 

Course Coordinator:

Jesse Kittrell
 

Length of Course:

2 days - 16 hours
 

Agency Limit:  2