North Carolina Justice Academy

North Carolina Department of Justice

Private Protective Services Firearms Instructor

  
Please check our "Available Training" page for the most current status of the course. 

Who Should Attend:

Private Protective Services trainers who have received a favorable recommendation from their employing licensee or from a Dean of Continuing Education at a Community College and will be instructing the firearms block of instruction for Private Protective Services. To attend this course, students must have contacted the North Carolina Department of Justice Private Protective services board and received a written invitation to attend. You may contact the Board at (919 ) 788-5320 and ask for the Training Officer.

Course Goals:

To provide the knowledge and skills necessary to instruct the firearms block of instruction for the Private Protective Services Board.  

Course Objectives:

The student will be able to:

♦ Conduct firearms qualification and training of PPS approved courses of fire.
♦ Train PPS Officers in the nomenclature, fundamentals of shooting, maintenance, cleaning and inspection of the handgun.
♦ Supervise a range with a maximum of efficiency and safety.
♦ Render initial first aid for medical emergencies on the firing range. 

Methodologies:

This course employs lecture, discussion, practical exercise and practice teaching.

Course Requirements:

Individuals must have successfully completed the PPS Unarmed Trainer Course and the prequalification prior to entering PPS Firearms Instructor Training (this is waived if the student is a Criminal Justice Firearms Instructor). Individuals must be 21 years of age or more and must possess a high school diploma or a GED. Additionally, individuals must have at least one year of supervisory experience in security, the military or in law enforcement. Attendance is required at all class sessions. Students must demonstrate the ability to safely operate a range and conduct courses of fire for PPS. Students must attain a minimum score of 75% on the final examination.

Special Concerns:
Students should bring comfortable and practical clothing for outside training and rain protection and duty handgun, uniform type holster and magazine carriers. Ammunition should include 1500 rounds of duty/ballistic equivalent ammunition for the handgun. Other necessary equipment includes duty flashlight, whistle and stopwatch, gun cleaning equipment, eye and ear protection, a clipboard and a billed hat or cap. Students will be required to work on the range at night.

Registration:

To attend this course, students must have contacted the North Carolina Department of Justice Private Protective services board and received a written invitation to attend. You may contact the Board at (919 ) 788-5320 and ask for the Training Officer.


 



Course Coordinator:

Chad Thompson

 

Length of Course:

Four days - 32 hours