North Carolina Justice Academy

North Carolina Department of Justice

Laws Governing Concealed Handgun & Use of Deadly Force #2078

  
October 22, 2014 - FULL 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
November 19, 2014 - FULL 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
November 24, 2014 - FULL 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
February 11, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
March 25, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
April 29, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
May 27, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg
June 10, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Edneyville
June 11, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Edneyville
June 17, 2015 1:00pm - 6:00pm Salemburg

Registration:

You must register for the class by completing this application form and sending it to the campus you are attending:
To register for SALEMBURG location, 
complete and mail this application to: 
Registrar, NCJA 
PO Box 99, Salemburg, NC 28385-0099 
or email to: registrar_east@ncdoj.gov 
or FAX to: 910-525-5235. 
To register for EDNEYVILLE location, 
complete and mail this application to: 
Registrar, NCJA 
PO Box 600, Edneyville, NC 28727-0600 
or email to: registrar_west@ncdoj.gov 
or FAX to: 828-685-7530. 

Who Should Attend:

 
Citizens who wish to instruct the mandatory firearms training class for persons applying for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit.  

Course Goals:

 
To provide the knowledge and skills necessary to instruct a firearms training class for persons applying for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit, in accordance with the requirements of the North Carolina Administrative Code.  

Course Objectives:

 
The student will be able to:
* Conduct an approved firearms qualification course for North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit applicants.
* Train students in the nomenclature, fundamentals of shooting, maintenance cleaning and inspection of a handgun.
* Train students in the law of deadly force in North Carolina, including specific examples of when deadly force is and is not allowed.
* Train students in the legal requirements related to the carrying of a concealed handgun with a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit.
 

Methodologies:

 
This course employs lecture, discussion, demonstration and a written examination.   

Course Requirements:

 
Attendance is required at all class sessions. Students must attain a minimum score of 75 percent on the written examination at the end of the training.
 

Special Concerns:

Registered students will receive a notification letter about their acceptance into the course. You will then receive a second notice by email 30 days before the course with further instructions, including how to pay for the course. Do not send payment with the course application.

Class will begin promptly at 1:00pm. No late arrivals will be admitted.

Bring eye and ear protection for a shooting demonstration by the instructor. Do not bring firearms.

 

Fee:

 
$125.00.  

Requirements To Become a Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor:

 
The instructor must be eligible to receive or possess a firearm under Federal and North Carolina State Law. Once eligible for consideration, the prospective instructor must complete the following and submit to Criminal Justice Standards Division of the North Carolina Department of Justice for review:
• complete the Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor Application Form (CCH-1);
• attach a copy of the actual instructor certification certificate from the Commission or the NRA;
• attach a copy of the certificate showing successful completion of the course "Laws Governing Concealed Handgun and Use of Deadly Force;"
• attach a copy of the course material the prospective instructor intends to teach or the course outline for prior approved courses; and
• include the application fee in the form of a certified check.
 

 



Course Coordinator:

Chad Thompson

 

Length of Course:

Five hours
 

For more Information about
Concealed Handgun Instructor Certification visit:

Concealed Handgun Instructor Certification
Includes how to order more CCH certificates and how to renew your CCH Instructor Certification

The Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor program is regulated through the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, as designated in NCGS 14-415.12 (a)(4).

You can contact Ed Zapolsky ezapolsky@ncdoj.gov 
at Training and Standards or
call 919-661-5980.