North Carolina Justice Academy

North Carolina Department of Justice

Juvenile Legal Issues for Law Enforcement

Date:

Place:

July 11, 2017 Edneyville
July 19, 2017 Salemburg
September 28, 2017 Edneyville
October 25, 2017 - New date Salemburg - No housing is available for this date.
November 2, 2017 Salemburg

Please check our "Available Training" page for the most current status of the course. 
 

Who Should Attend:

Officers assigned to investigate juvenile delinquency cases, or involved in juvenile court delinquency proceedings, and street officers who regularly encounter juveniles.

Course Goals:

Officers must be aware of the laws affecting juvenile delinquents and undisciplined juveniles.  Further, officers should know the rights of a juvenile and the responsibility of the officer who takes custody of a juvenile.

Course Objectives:

The student will be able to:

  • List the ages of: 
  • a juvenile who may be transferred to superior court
  • a juvenile delinquent
  • an undisciplined juvenile
  • a juvenile
  • List and explain the Constitutional rights that have been afforded juveniles.
  • Describe the circumstances under which a law enforcement officer may take custody of a juvenile without a court order.
  • Discuss a juvenile’s consent to search and any limitations on that consent under the Fourth Amendment.
  • Explain juvenile Miranda warnings that must be given for juveniles less than 16 years of age and for juveniles between the ages of 16 and 18.
  • Define the meaning of “custody” for juvenile interrogation purposes under Miranda.
  • Explain when and how an interrogation of a juvenile must be recorded.
  • Explain the options of a law enforcement officer once she takes a juvenile into custody.
  • List the notifications that a law enforcement officer must make after taking a juvenile into custody.
  • Explain how an officer obtains a Nontestimonial Identification Order in juvenile cases.
  • List the factors that the court must consider in deciding whether to secure or release a juvenile after he is taken into custody.
  • Legislative Update Overview

Methodologies:

This course employs lecture, class discussion and an intensive review of appellate court cases illustrating the points made throughout the course.

Course Requirements:

This is a basic juvenile law course involving a review of judicial decisions and other legal sources.  Attendance is required for the entire session.

Registration:

Register for ALL NCJA classes (traditional classroom and online) on our  North Carolina Justice Academy Training Portal. After signing in to the portal, you can view ALL available classes. If you don’t have a portal account, instructions for creating one are located here.


 


Course Coordinator:

Jarrett McGowan
Paige Phillips

Length of Course:

One day - 8 hours
 

CICP Accredited

LIMIT 2 students per department