North Carolina Justice Academy

North Carolina Department of Justice

Domestic Violence: Crimes and Legal Issues

 
Return to Course Offerings A-Z

Date:

Place:

July 13, 2017 Edneyville
September 8, 2017 Salemburg
September 26, 2017 Edneyville
October 5, 2017 Salemburg

Please check our "Available Training" page for the most current status of the course. 
 

Who Should Attend:

Law enforcement officers assigned investigate domestic violence matters.

Course Goal:

Officers must be aware of their authority to engage in enforcement activities related to domestic violence and 50B protective orders. 

Course Objectives:

  • Define statutory domestic violence and personal relationship, explaining their importance in seeking a 50B protective order in North Carolina.
  • Explain the role the court plays in setting terms of a 50B protective order. 
  • Explain when officers can enforce out-of-state protective orders and out-of-state child custody orders. 
  • Explain the role firearms play in domestic violence, when the court may order firearms to be taken and how a defendant can request to have them returned.
  • Identify the difference between a 50B & 50C order based on who qualifies for each and explain who may obtain a Workplace Violence Prevention Order. 
  • Explain the importance of:
    • Evidence based prosecution 
    • Photography in investigation 
    • Thorough investigation 
    • Specialized domestic violence units
    • When warrantless arrest is appropriate 
    • Strangulation in domestic violence cases 
    • Serious injury as it relates to assault 
    • Serious bodily injury as it relates to assault 
    • Multiple convictions of domestic violence protective order violations
  • Explain how the 48 hour rule applies after arrest, specifically the importance of having a personal relationship when bond setting occurs. 
  • List at least three resources for victims 

Methodologies:

This course employs lecture, class discussion and review of statutes and judicial decisions. 

Course Requirements:

Attendance is required for the entire session. 

Registration:

Register for ALL NCJA classes (online, traditional, web-based) on our North Carolina Justice Academy Training Portal. After signing in to the portal, you can view ALL available classes. If you don’t have a portal account, instructions for creating one are located here.

 

 

 


Course Coordinator:

Marie Hartwell Evitt
Paige Phillips 

Length of Course:

One day - 8 hours
 

CICP Accredited

 
Limit 2 students per department