skip to main content North Carolina Justice Academy

Get Help &
Find Answers

Take Action


Speed Measuring Training


The Speed Measuring Instrument (SMI) Training Program is made up of operator and instructor level courses. This Commission mandated program consists of 8 course manuals containing over 75 individual blocks of instruction. The SMI Home Page is maintained by Dan Worley, the designated School Director for SMI Instructor Training, North Carolina Justice Academy.
 
Instructor and operator level training in the area of radar, lidar and time-distance is conducted by the North Carolina Justice Academy. Radar, lidar, and time-distance operator training may be conducted by approved training sites throughout North Carolina. They include community colleges, police departments and the NC State Highway Patrol.
 
In order for a North Carolina law enforcement officer to operate any speed measuring instrument for enforcement purposes, such officer must successfully complete an appropriate SMI operator course. SMI operator courses consist of lecture, demonstration, motor-skill and written examinations. Once an officer successfully completes the required training course, certification is issued for a 3 year period on the specific speed measuring instrument(s) applicable to the training course completed. If an officer wishes to maintain operator certification, the officer must complete a re-certification course which renews his certification for 3 more years. This re-certification process is repeated every 3 years. In order for a SMI operator to instruct in any speed measuring instrument training course, such operator must successfully complete an appropriate SMI instructor course.

SMI instructor courses consist of lecture, demonstration, motor-skill and written examinations. Once an operator successfully completes the required SMI instructor training course, certification is issued for a 3 year period on the specific speed measuring instrument(s) applicable to the training course completed. If an SMI instructor wishes to maintain instructor certification, the instructor must complete a re-certification course which renews his certification for 3 more years. This re-certification process is repeated every 3 years. There are more than 8500 certified speed measuring instrument operators and approximately 150 certified speed measuring instrument instructors in North Carolina.

For lesson plans, log-in information or further questions, please contact Dan Worley at 910-525-4151.